Facebook is tracking your web activities: Here’s how to stop it

HomeFeatureFacebook is tracking your web activities: Here’s how to stop it

Is Facebook tracking every activity you do even when you are offline? The answer is ‘Yes’. Tracking your activities – both on and off the platform – is not new for the social media giant. This is because it wants to personalize your experience and send you targeted ads. Luckily, the meta-owned app also offers its users tools to review and modify their privacy settings.

Facebook gets a large amount of data about your interactions with organisations and businesses using tools, such as Facebook Login. One can’t avoid sharing the information by logging out from their account or uninstalling the application from their device. If you don’t like the idea of sharing your information, you can limit what data is shared with the platform by making use of ‘Off-Facebook Activity’ in your Facebook account settings.

How to turn off ‘Off-Facebook Activity’

If you are uncomfortable with this type of tracking, especially since it occurs when you are not on Facebook, follow these simple steps:

Step 1: Log in to your Facebook account and tap on the down arrow from the top right of the screen

Step 1 - Log in to your Facebook account and tap on the down arrow from the top right of the screen

Step 2: Go to ‘Settings & Privacy’ option and click on ‘Settings’

Step 2 - Go to ‘Settings & Privacy’ option and click on ‘Settings’

Step 3: Now, from the left column, click ‘Your Facebook Information’, and then on ‘Off-Facebook Activity’

Step 3 - Click ‘Off-Facebook Activity’

Step 4: From the right sidebar, click ‘More’ and select ‘Manage Future Activity’

Step 4 - Select ‘Manage Future Activity’

Step 5: Now, click on the button next to the ‘Future Off-Facebook Activity’ to turn off the ‘Off-Facebook Activity’

Step 5 - Turn off the ‘Off-Facebook Activity’

By turning off your ‘Off-Facebook Activity’, the social media giant will remove all your identifying information that the apps and websites share. This means that it will no longer know what apps or websites you go to and what you checked out there.

Also ReadVaccinated? Download Covid-19 vaccination certificate using WhatsApp

Latest Articles

PlayStation vs Gaming PC, which one is better?

One of the broadly asked questions among the gaming...

What Are Motherboard Beep Codes?

Everything you need to know about motherboard beep codes,...

Flipkart Big Billion Days Sale Goes Live: iPhone Deals Galore

There are many big festivals lined up for the...

Apple Watch Low Power Mode; How It Works And What Are The Benefits

The Apple Smart Watch is widely recognized as a...

An Insight Into Android’s Journey, From Its Inception Till Now

The most recent version of Google's wildly popular mobile...
spot_img

Subscribe

CATEGORIES

spot_img

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here