Tech News

X Controversial Block Feature Update To Allow Blocked Accounts to View Your Public Posts

Highlights

  • X’s new block feature update allows blocked accounts to view public posts.
  • Blocked accounts can’t engage with posts, follow, send messages or tag photos.
  • Blocked accounts but can view followers and following lists.
  • X’s claim of increased transparency as users worry about harassment and stalking.
X rolling out a new block feature update. (Screenshot – X)

X has begun rolling out the update to its block feature, which sparked a controversy when it was first announced last month.

The new block feature update will now permit blocked accounts to still view the public posts of the person who blocked them.

This update has sparked criticism from users concerned about their safety and privacy. It was first announced at X’s Engineering handle @XEng on 16 October.

Many users argued after the announcement that they don’t want blocked accounts to have access to their posts.

It is important to note that even after the update, blocked accounts will no longer be able to follow, engage with posts or send direct messages to the person who blocked them.

However, they can now see the followers and following lists of those who have blocked them.

The X support page previously mentioned that blocked users couldn’t see these lists but this reference has since been removed.

The social network claims this update increases transparency saying the block feature could sometimes be used to hide or share private or harmful information.

However, users have questioned this reasoning, pointing out that X already offers an option to make accounts private, which better supports controlling who sees posts.

This approach to blocking differs from the way it’s traditionally implemented on social media and when X initially announced the planned revamp, users expressed concerns that it might lead to increased harassment and stalking.

Software engineer and tech diversity advocate Tracy Chou, who developed an app to help users block accounts automatically noted that while determined users can create new accounts to bypass blocks, adding friction is still important.

“Making it easy for the creeper to creep is not a good thing,” she posted on X last month.

What You Need to Know About Using Block Feature on X?

Blocked accounts can see your posts if they are public, but they cannot –

  • Engage with your posts such as Like, Reply, Repost, etc
  • Follow you
  • Send Direct Messages to you
  • Add your X account to their lists
  • Tag you in a photo

For protected accounts, blocked users cannot view posts, as these are only visible to followers.

Other important points to know about the block feature –

  • When you block an account, they are automatically unfollowed from you and you are unfollowed from them.
  • If you later unblock them, you’ll need to follow them again manually.
  • Blocked accounts are not notified of the block but if they visit your profile, they’ll see they’ve been blocked.
  • Block is different from muting, which is invisible to the muted account.
  • You won’t receive notifications from blocked accounts or from accounts you don’t follow that mention you in conversations started by blocked accounts.
  • You will see mentions from accounts you follow in those conversations.
  • To view all mentions, users can search for your username.

FAQs

Q1. What is the main update to X’s block feature?

Answer. The new block feature update allows blocked accounts to view the public posts of the person who blocked them.

Q2. Can blocked accounts engage with your posts on X?

Answer. No, blocked accounts cannot engage with posts such as Like, Reply, Repost, etc., follow you, send Direct Messages to you, add your X account to their lists, or tag you in a photo.

Q3. What can blocked accounts see on profiles after the update?

Answer. Blocked accounts can see the followers and following lists of those who have blocked them.

Q4. What is the users’ main concern regarding the block feature update on X?

Answer. Users are concerned about their safety and privacy, fearing that the update might lead to increased harassment and stalking.

Also Read : X to Speed Up Community Notes with Lightning Notes, Raises API Prices

Also Read : Elon Musk’s X Introduces New User Fee

Share
Published by
Team My Mobile

Recent Posts

Upcoming Phones in October 2026: Vivo V80, OPPO F35 Pro, Moto Edge 70 Neo and More

Highlights Vivo V80, Vivo S2 FE and OPPO F35 series are among the key phones…

14 hours ago

Samsung Galaxy A08 4G Price, M08 and F08 India Pricing Revealed Ahead of Launch

Highlights Samsung Galaxy A08 4G tipped at Rs 18,999 in India for 4GB + 64GB.…

16 hours ago

Xiaomi 18 Pro Global Variant and New Redmi Tablet Spotted on IMDA Certification

Highlights Xiaomi smartphone linked to the global Xiaomi 18 Pro spotted on Singapore’s IMDA certification.…

1 day ago

OPPO Find X10 Pro Max Spotted on UAE’s TDRA Certification Ahead of Global Launch

Highlights OPPO Find X10 Pro Max spotted on UAE’s TDRA certification. The device is also…

1 day ago

OPPO Find X10 Global Variant Appears on Geekbench with Dimensity 9600M Ahead of Global Launch

Highlights OPPO Find X10 global variant spotted on Geekbench scoring 2,528 single-core and 8,709 multi-core.…

1 day ago

Vivo X Fold 6 India Launch Date Tipped for October 6; Storage Variants, Colours and OriginOS 7 Revealed

Highlights Vivo X Fold 6 tipped to launch in India on October 6 at 12…

1 day ago

This website uses cookies.