HomeTech NewsOPPO Pad Mini vs iPad Mini (2026): Which New Compact Tablet Should...

OPPO Pad Mini vs iPad Mini (2026): Which New Compact Tablet Should You Buy?

Highlights

  • OPPO Pad Mini features a larger 8.8-inch 2.5K matte OLED display with a 144Hz refresh rate, Snapdragon 8 Gen 5 processor and 67W fast charging.
  • The iPad Mini (2026) offers an 8.5-inch Super Retina XDR OLED display, A20 Pro chip and Apple Intelligence features.
  • The OPPO Pad Mini costs Rs. 94,999 for its single 8GB RAM and 256GB storage variant, while iPad Mini (2026) starts at Rs. 82,900 for the base 128GB Wi-Fi model.

The newly introduced OPPO Pad Mini Matte Display Edition and the Apple iPad Mini (2026) are both compact tablets designed for users who want a portable device for entertainment, productivity and everyday tasks. Here is a detailed comparison of the OPPO Pad Mini and iPad Mini (2026) including their prices in India, features and performance.

OPPO Pad Mini (left) vs iPad Mini 2026 (right).

OPPO Pad Mini vs iPad Mini (2026): Specifications Compared

OPPO Pad Mini iPad Mini (2026)
Display 8.8-inch (2520×1680) 2.5K OLED screen 8.5-inch (2316×1512 pixels) Super Retina XDR OLED display
Refresh Rate 144Hz refresh rate Not Specified
Processor Snapdragon 8 Gen 5 3nm 20 Pro 3nm chip
OS Android 16 with ColorOS 16 iPadOS 27
RAM 8GB LPDDR5X Not Specified
Storage 256GB UFS 4.1 128GB, 256GB, 512GB
Rear Camera 13MP 12MP
Front Camera 8MP 12MP Center Stage camera
Battery 8000mAh 19.3-watt-hour rechargeable
Charging 67W Not Specified
Audio Dual Speakers, 2 microphones Dual microphones for calls, Stereo speakers using Acoustic Display
Dimensions 194.38 ×132.38 ×5.39mm 195.3×132.6×5.4mm
Weight 279g 255g (Wi-Fi) / 263g (5G)

OPPO Pad Mini vs iPad Mini: Price in India

The OPPO Pad Mini Matte Display Edition is priced at Rs 94,999 in India. It comes in a single configuration with 8GB of LPDDR5X RAM and 256GB of UFS 4.1 storage.

Apple, on the other hand, offers more storage and connectivity choices with the iPad Mini (2026). The Wi-Fi variant starts at Rs 82,900 for 128GB of storage, while the Wi-Fi + Cellular models start at Rs 1,00,900 for 128GB of storage. Here are all the prices at a glance:

Models Prices in India
OPPO Pad Mini Matte Display Edition (8GB + 256GB) Rs 94,999
iPad Mini (2026) Wi-Fi (128GB) Rs 82,900
iPad Mini (2026) Wi-Fi (256GB) Rs 94,900
iPad Mini (2026) Wi-Fi (512GB) Rs 1,18,900
iPad Mini (2026) Wi-Fi + Cellular (128GB) Rs 1,00,900
iPad Mini (2026) Wi-Fi + Cellular (256GB) Rs 1,12,900
iPad Mini (2026) Wi-Fi + Cellular (512GB) Rs 1,36,900

Comparing the prices, the OPPO Pad Mini is Rs 2,199 more expensive than the 256GB Wi-Fi iPad Mini (2026), despite offering the same listed storage capacity. However, the iPad Mini’s 128GB Wi-Fi model is Rs. 12,099 cheaper than the OPPO tablet.

Buyers who need cellular connectivity or more than 256GB of storage can choose the corresponding iPad Mini variant, while OPPO offers just one configuration.

Apple will also offer accessories for the iPad Mini (2026), which include:

  • Smart Folio at Rs 8,500
  • Apple Pencil Pro at Rs 11,900 (Student Price Rs 10,900)
  • Apple Pencil (USB-C) at Rs 7,900 (Student Price Rs 6,900)

Display Compared: 8.8-Inch 144Hz OLED vs 8.5-Inch OLED

iPad Mini (2026).
iPad Mini (2026).

The display is one of the biggest differences between the OPPO Pad Mini and the iPad Mini (2026). OPPO focuses on a larger, high-refresh-rate matte OLED panel, while Apple combines an OLED screen with wide colour support, high contrast and True Tone technology.

The OPPO Pad Mini Matte Display Edition features an 8.8-inch OLED screen with a resolution of 2520 × 1680 pixels. The display supports refresh rates of 60Hz, 90Hz, 120Hz and 144Hz, along with a touch sampling rate of up to 240Hz.

OPPO Pad Mini.
OPPO Pad Mini.

In comparison, the iPad Mini (2026) features an 8.5-inch Super Retina XDR OLED display with a resolution of 2316 × 1512 pixels and a pixel density of 326 PPI. Apple has reduced the bezels by 24% compared with the previous model to accommodate the larger display while retaining the compact physical dimensions of its predecessor. Buyers can choose between a standard glossy finish and an optional anti-glare nano-texture glass finish. The tablet is available in midnight and starlight exterior finishes.

Overall, the OPPO Pad Mini looks more suitable for users who prioritise a matte screen and high refresh rates. The iPad Mini’s display may appeal more to those who value its specified colour features, low-light brightness and display-linked audio design.

OPPO Pad Mini vs iPad Mini: Performance and Gaming

The OPPO Pad Mini uses the Snapdragon 8 Gen 5 3nm Mobile Platform with an Adreno 829 GPU, while the iPad Mini (2026) is powered by Apple’s A20 Pro chip, also listed as a 3nm processor. Notably, both tablets therefore feature processors built using a 3nm process.

For gaming, the OPPO Pad Mini has one clearly documented advantage such as its display supports refresh rates of up to 144Hz and touch sampling rates of up to 240Hz. These features may benefit compatible games by enabling smoother motion and responsive touch input.

The iPad Mini’s A20 Pro chip is accompanied by Apple’s claims of up to 60% better multithreaded CPU performance, up to 2.7 times faster GPU output and up to 4.5 times faster AI compute performance compared with the previous model.

The OPPO Pad Mini has a clear feature advantage for buyers who want a tablet with a specified 144Hz display, a high touch sampling rate and a dedicated mobile graphics platform. The iPad Mini (2026), meanwhile, combines Apple’s A20 Pro chip with a Neural Engine and GPU hardware designed to support demanding applications and on-device AI features.

Battery Life and Charging Compared

The OPPO Pad Mini and iPad Mini (2026) provide different kinds of battery information, making a direct endurance comparison difficult without real-world usage comparison.

The OPPO Pad Mini packs an 8,000mAh battery and supports 67W fast charging. The iPad Mini (2026), on the other hand, has a 19.3Wh rechargeable lithium-polymer battery and is rated for up to 10 hours of web browsing over Wi-Fi, video watching or music listening.

OPPO’s 67W charging specification gives it a clear advantage in terms of listed charging capability. However, it would therefore be premature to conclude that the tablet charges fully faster or lasts longer in everyday use.

The OPPO Pad Mini is the more appealing option on paper for users who prioritise fast charging.

Software, AI Features and Ecosystem

The software experience is another major difference between the OPPO Pad Mini and the iPad Mini (2026).

The OPPO Pad Mini runs Android 16 with ColorOS 16, while the iPad Mini (2026) runs iPadOS 27 and includes Apple Intelligence features. Apple also lists an updated conversational Siri interface with on-screen context awareness, alongside privacy protections based on on-device processing and Private Cloud Compute.

The iOS software brings windowed app multitasking, Liquid Glass interface settings and external display support planned for iPadOS 27.2. This gives the iPad Mini a set of specified productivity features that may be useful for users who want to work with multiple applications or connect an external display.

Apple lists support for the Apple Pencil (USB-C) and Apple Pencil Pro. The latter supports haptic squeeze gestures, barrel roll sensors and Find My integration. The tablet will also support a redesigned two-panel Smart Folio made from TechWoven fabric available in navy blue and taupe.

The OPPO Pad Mini’s matte display is designed to provide slight tactile friction that mimics writing or sketching on paper when paired with a stylus.

OPPO Pad Mini.
OPPO Pad Mini.

Cameras, Speakers and Connectivity

Camera Comparison

The OPPO Pad Mini has a 13MP rear camera and an 8MP front camera. On the other hand, iPad Mini (2026) features a 12MP rear camera with an f/1.8 aperture, a five-element lens and True Tone flash. Its front camera is a 12MP Center Stage camera with an f/2.0 aperture and Retina Flash.

Center Stage is a notable feature for users who frequently participate in video calls. Apple also specifies a landscape-edge placement for the front camera, intended to provide more natural framing when the tablet is used horizontally.  The iPad Mini rear camera is described as a 12MP Wide sensor capable of recording 4K video at up to 60 frames per second. Its Adaptive True Tone flash is designed to support photography and document capture.

Speakers and Microphones

The OPPO Pad Mini comes with dual speakers and two microphones.

The iPad Mini (2026) includes dual microphones for calls and stereo speakers using Apple’s Acoustic Display system. The system uses display-coupled woofers and frame-mounted tweeters within a sealed cavity.

iPad Mini (2026)
iPad Mini (2026)

Connectivity Comparison

The OPPO Pad Mini supports dual-band Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6.0 and USB Type-C with USB 3.2 Gen 1. The iPad Mini (2026) supports Wi-Fi 6 with 2×2 MIMO, Bluetooth 5.3, GPS/GNSS, and USB 3 at speeds up to 10Gbps. Its cellular models support 5G on sub-6GHz frequencies and Gigabit-class LTE.

This gives the OPPO tablet an advantage in the listed Wi-Fi and Bluetooth standards. The iPad Mini, however, has clearly specified cellular options and GPS/GNSS support, making it a more fully documented choice for users who need mobile connectivity.

Which Compact Tablet Is Better for Students, Gaming and Work?

The OPPO Pad Mini and iPad Mini (2026) have different strengths, so the better option depends on how the tablet will be used.

  • For students and note-taking – The OPPO Pad Mini is worth considering for its matte display, while the iPad Mini is a strong option for students who specifically want Apple’s Pencil accessories and listed productivity features.
  • For gaming – The OPPO Pad Mini has the more clearly specified high-refresh-rate display.
  • For work and productivity – The iPad Mini is the suitable option for users who want Apple’s specified multitasking and accessory features. The OPPO Pad Mini may be more appealing to those who prioritise its matte display and Android-based software.
  • For travel and everyday use – The iPad Mini is the lighter option and has a specified dust and water resistance rating. The OPPO Pad Mini offers listed fast-charging support, while Apple’s tablet provides a published battery-life estimate.

OPPO Pad Mini vs iPad Mini (2026): Which One Should You Buy?

The OPPO Pad Mini Matte Display Edition and iPad Mini (2026) are aimed at buyers who want a compact tablet but their feature sets cater to different priorities.

Choose the OPPO Pad Mini: if its matte display, up to 144Hz refresh rate and fast charging are your priorities.

Choose the iPad Mini (2026): if you prefer an Apple Pencil support, Apple Intelligence, productivity features, a lighter tablet and lower starting price.

- Advertisment -

Must Read